Indira M. Raman Bill and Gayle Cook Professor

Research Summary

Ionic mechanisms of neuronal excitability

Information in the nervous system is transmitted by electrical signals (action potentials) within neurons and by chemical signals between neurons. The research interests of this lab are in studying the biophysical properties of voltage- and ligand-gated ion channels intrinsic to neurons, as well as in understanding the physiological consequences of the different patterns of activity characteristic of specific neurons.

We are currently studying neurons of the cerebellum, a brain region that participates in controlling movements. Projects in the lab focus on the ion channel properties responsible for specific patterns of firing, the transmission of synaptic signals from Purkinje to cerebellar nuclear cells, the responses of cerebellar nuclear cells to different patterns of synaptic input, and the activity and changes in cerebellar neuronal spiking during motor behaviors and learning.

Selected Publications

Selected Honors

  • 2014  NINDS Jarvits Award
  • 2013  Installed as Bill And Gayle Cook Professor, Northwestern University
  • 2010–13  Charles Deering Mccormick Professor Of Teaching Excellence, Northwestern Univeristy.
  • 2010  DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI AWARD, Univ. Wisconsin-Madison Neuroscience Training Program
  • 2009  Integrated Science Program Faculty Service Award (1st Annual, co-recipient), Northwestern University
  • 2008  Excellence In Instruction Award (chosen by graduate students), Interdepartmental Neuroscience Graduate Program, Northwestern University
  • 2006  Clarence Ver Steeg Award For Graduate Faculty, Northwestern University
  • 2004  Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award, Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, Northwestern University
  • 2003  Searle Center For Teaching Excellence Lecturer, Selected by students to deliver the lecture entitled “What the best teachers do”
  • 2001–04  Joseph And Esther A. Klingenstein Fellowship Award In The Neurosciences
  • 2000–03  Searle Foundation Scholarship
  • 1999–01  Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship
  • 1997–98  National Research Service Award (Postdoctoral Fellowship), NIH F32-NS10396
  • 1994  Jerzy Rose Award for Ph.D. research in neuroscience, Univ. Wisconsin-Madison
  • 1994  Sigma Xi Award for Ph.D. research in science, Univ. Wisconsin-Madison
  • 1993–94 Ford Foundation Doctoral Fellowship
  • 1992  Inbusch Graduate Scholarship for biomedical science, Univ. Wisconsin-Madison
  • 1991  Cremer Graduate Fellowship for biomedical science, Univ. Wisconsin-Madison
  • 1989–92  National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship
  • 1988–89  Degenhardt Scholarship for graduate study in a scientific field, Cornell University
  • 1988–89  Andrew Dixon White Graduate Fellowship, Cornell University
  • 1988  B.SCI. Magna Cum Laude, Cornell University
  • 1987  Honor Society, Cornell University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences